The historic village of Dalgety is the only town left on the Snowy River in New South Wales. The Dalgety Bridge built in 1888, is a grand structure that was, in its day, an engineering feat. Once considered as a site for the National Capital, not much has changed in this quiet little hamlet. With the introduction of increased flows to the river, visitors can learn about Snowy River Recovery and the many projects that will see the River slowly come back to life.
Previously known as Buckley’s Crossing, the township was surveyed in 1874 by Surveyor General J.R. Campbell. Dalgety was once a major stock crossing when bullock trains were an important mode of transport. Before the bridge was built a punt was used to carry stock and travelers across the river. It was also known as a friendly meeting place for the Aborigines of the South East as they made their way up to the High Country. They would wait many weeks for the water level to drop after the spring thaw before crossing and heading for the high country.
In 1902 Dalgety was gazetted as the site for the National Capital. Although there was much debate, it was finally thought to be too close to Victoria so missed out to Canberra.
Situated on the Monaro Plains and in the rain shadow of the Snowy Mountains, Dalgety is a relatively dry area of rolling hills with granite boulders scattered across the landscape and full of history. There is a lovely Historic Town and River Walk.
Activites and Experiences at Dalgety
- Public Bar
- National Park
- Takeaway Food
- Places of Worship
Nearest Airport: Snowy Mountains
Accommodation In Dalgety
Discover some of the accommodation in and around Dalgety