In 1877 Sir Henry Parkes purchased 600 acres of land here and gave the name Faulconbridge, the maiden name of his mother, to the residence he built. A railway station was constructed to serve his needs in 1877. Parkes, his first wife and two of his sons are buried in the cemetery he established. In 1933, Mr Joseph Jackson, MLA, donated 8 hectares of land to the council for a public park. This is known as the Prime Ministers corridor of oaks where all prime ministers plant an oak tree. Also located at Faulconbridge is the home of Norman Lindsay author of ‘the magic pudding’. His home was acquired by the national trust and is open to the public for inspection.
Activites and Experiences at Faulconbridge
Nearest Airport: Sydney
Accommodation In Faulconbridge
Discover some of the accommodation in and around Faulconbridge