Known in the early days as “20 Mile Hollow”, the area boasted a popular Coaching Inn – the Woodman’s Inn – built in 1834. It was sold to Michael Hogan in 1836 who rebuilt the inn and renamed it ‘Kings Arms Hotel’. When William Buss became the proprietor in 1856 both the inn and locality became known as Buss’s. A railway platform opened in 1869, also took that name. When the inn closed, it became a private residence and was called by its owner Woodford House. By 1871, the locality had also become known as Woodford. The house later became the well-known Woodford Academy, a school for boys.
Activites and Experiences at Woodford
Nearest Airport: Sydney
Accommodation In Woodford
Discover some of the accommodation in and around Woodford